University of St. La Salle

Computer Science students got Best Educational Game Award

University of Saint La Salle – Bacolod’s game “SkipTrash” made by GameFriend Studios, a group of Computer Science students got the Best Educational Game Award on Electronic Sports and Gaming Summit and Philippine Game Festival 2017 GameOn Challenge School Track, November 11, 2017.


 The developers of the game consists the team of Joseph Mark Anthony Huelgas, Paul Anthony Faburada, Meltito Vagallon and Roston Labayen.


 The GameFriend Studios, together with the Playpool Studios represented one team with two games in the event. The Playpool Studios with game Little Johnny, consists the team of Alyxx Lemuel Mitra, Glaidel Anne Guinabo and Dolly Faith Untal. Both groups were chosen to represent the University of Saint La Salle – Bacolod, the only finalist school outside Manila region. The team, together with their thesis adviser, Dr. Eddie G. De Paula, attended the 3-day event at SMX Mall of Asia in Pasay City, October 26-29, 2017. They showcased the game to around 20,000 convention goers, including the big people from the game industries who gathered for the ESGS 2017.


 Finalists were judged during the event by secret judges and through an online voting system. After the event, both the games Skip Trash and Little Johnny became nominees for the ICT Creative Awards in the Best Educational Game Category. The Skip Trash was also nominated for the Most Innovative Game Category.


 The University of Saint La Salle – Bacolod team competed with the games made by other schools which were from the Asia Pacific College, CIIT, De La Salle – College of Saint Benilde, De La Salle University – Manila, Far Eastern University, Holy Angel University, iAcademy, Jose Rizal University, San Sebastian College – Recoletos and Mapuon Institute of Technology.


Other images

Explore more news